Library Development Services

The Library Development Services Bureau works to improve library services for all Californians.

Bureau staff administer state and federal grant programs for California’s libraries; develop statewide programs and initiatives; collaborate with local, state, and federal agencies; support library partnerships and resource-sharing; and collect, analyze, and disseminate library statistics.

Administration

Natalie Cole
Bureau Chief
natalie.cole@library.ca.gov

Reed Strege
Assistant Bureau Chief
reed.strege@library.ca.gov

General Contact
csllds@library.ca.gov
(916) 603-7212

Grants Coordinators and Grant Analysts

Grants Coordinators and Grant Analysts administer the State Library’s funding opportunities and monitor funded projects.

Please contact our coordinators and analysts for information on upcoming opportunities and with questions about compliance, reporting, and implementing a funded project.

Jen Lemberger
American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA)
jen.lemberger@library.ca.gov

Lynne Oliva
Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA)
lynne.oliva@library.ca.gov

Monica Rivas
California Library Services Act (CLSA)
monica.rivas@library.ca.gov

Annly Roman
California Library Literacy Services (CLLS)
annly.roman@library.ca.gov

Library Programs Consultants and Project Managers

Library Programs Consultants and Project Managers develop and implement statewide programs and initiatives and provide consulting services to public libraries and associated groups and organizations to extend and enhance library services.

Please contact our library programs consultants and project managers for information about participating in statewide programs and initiatives, developing new and existing programs, and collecting, reporting, and using library data and statistics.

Meg DePriest
Library Data and Statistics
Public Libraries Survey (PLS)
meg.depriest@library.ca.gov

Chris Durr
Tween and Teen Services
Technology
chris.durr@library.ca.gov

Lena Pham
Library Facilities
Resource Sharing
Public Library Staff Education Program (PLSEP)
lena.pham@library.ca.gov

Laura Sasaki
Broadband Opportunities
E-rate and California Teleconnect Fund (CTF)
laura.sasaki@library.ca.gov

Bev Schwartzberg
Continuing Education
Literacy Services
beverly.schwartzberg@library.ca.gov

Shana Sojoyner
Early Learning and Children’s Services
Mobile Library Services
Summer Programming and Summer Meals
shana.sojoyner@library.ca.gov

Jody Thomas
Adult Services
Rural Libraries
Tribal Libraries
Workforce Development Services
jody.thomas@library.ca.gov

LSTA Five Year Plan (FY 2018-2022)

As part of the LSTA federal grant process, each state library is required to develop a five-year plan that outlines specific goals and objective that will be achieved with these federal funds. This plan guides the work of our LSTA grant making.

Sign up to receive “California Libraries in the News,” a weekly email newsletter from The State Library containing links to news items about public libraries across the state.

How We Support California Public Libraries

California Libraries in the News

Sign up to receive “California Libraries in the News,” a weekly email newsletter from The State Library containing links to news items about public libraries across the state.