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Figure 1: Minimum Wage Laws Vary Across the U.S.

uring his 2013 State of
the Union, President
Barack Obama

recommended raising the
national minimum wage to
$9/hour and indexing it to
inflation. Although California’s
$8/hour rate is above the current
national rate of $7.25/hour, the .
state will still be affected if the
President’s proposal becomes
law. This short subject provides a
brief history of the minimum
wage, looks at the current
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practice of the law, and provides
context on how California fits
within the national framework.

The first minimum wage law in the United States was
in Massachusetts in 1912. It was voluntary and
protected only women and children workers. California
passed its own law in 1913, setting the rate at 16¢/hour.
Minimum wage laws were often overturned by courts
during this early period, declaring such laws
unconstitutional for violating an individual’s right to
contract. The first national minimum wage law—the
National Industrial Recovery Act—was passed in 1933,
and then unanimously overturned by the U.S. Supreme
Court in Schechter Poultry Corp. v. United States, 295
U.S. 495 (1935).

The Supreme Court continued to overturn state and
federal wage laws throughout the 1930s, until it
reversed course and voted to uphold Washington’s law
in West Coast Hotel Co. v. Parrish, 300 U.S. 379, 400
(1937). This was part of a larger change in the court
from overturning New Deal legislation to upholding it.
In 1938 the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) (29 USC
Chapter 8) passed, establishing the first national
minimum wage at 25¢/hour. Since then, the minimum
wage has been a cornerstone of federal labor standards.

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division

MINIMUM WAGE ACROSS THE U.S.

There is significant variation in minimum wage laws
across the country, as shown in Figure 1. Five
southeastern states have no minimum wage laws.
Puerto Rico and four other states have minimum wage
laws that set their rate below the federal level, allowing
the federal rate to preempt them. Guam, the U.S. Virgin
Islands and 22 other states set their minimum wage to
the federal rate. Twenty more, including the District of
Columbia, set a local minimum wage above the federal
rate. Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Missouri, Montana,
Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Vermont, and Washington
index their wage to inflation, allowing for regular
increases to match declines in the purchasing power of
the dollar (marked "*" on the map).

The FLSA preempts local law in any state that either
does not provide for a minimum wage, or establishes a
rate below the federal level. States can require a
minimum wage higher than the federal rate, or extend
coverage to employees not covered under FLSA. Many
salaried and fee-basis workers are exempt from FLSA,
depending on the level of independence and discretion
the employees have in completing their duties. As of
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Figure 2: Percent Difference Between CA and Federal Minimum Wage

hotels with more than 100
rooms to pay employees a
minimum wage of $13/hour.
Emeryville requires hotels to
pay their non-management
employees a minimum of
$9.00/hour with an average of
$11.00/hour across the same
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Similar to the minimum wage
are living wage laws, which
typically require employers
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Years in which California's minimum wage exceeded the national rate are shown above 0 (in blue),
years in which California's minimum wage was less than the national rate are shown below 0 (in red).

Source: National data from U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division. California data
from CA Department of Industrial Relations, Industrial Welfare Commission.

doing business with a
municipality to pay their
workers a wage adequate to
meet basic needs for living
(usually shelter, food,
clothing, medical care, and
transportation). Such laws
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the latest revision to the law in 2004, exemption from
the federal minimum wage is not predicated on job
title, but on actual job functions and duties.

The FLSA also differentiates between tipped and non-
tipped employees. Job functions that “customarily and
regularly receive more than $30 in tips” per day are
subject to the rate for tipped workers—currently
$2.13/hour. However, the California minimum wage
law does not offer this distinction, instead requiring
that both classes of employees receive the state
minimum wage over and above any tips received.

MINIMUM WAGE IN CALIFORNIA
California has generally set a higher minimum wage
than the U.S. as a whole. When the federal 25¢
minimum wage was implemented in 1938, the rate in
California was 33¢ (32 percent above the federal rate).
From 1947 to 1949 California’s rate was 62.5 percent
above the federal rate (65¢ vs. 40¢ per hour). This was
followed by over a decade (1950 to 1963) where
California’s rate either lagged behind or was at parity
with the federal rate. Today, California’s $8 rate is 75¢
(or a little over 10 percent) higher than the federal rate.

Washington’s $9.19/hour is the highest minimum wage
among the states; however, San Francisco has the
highest overall, with a minimum wage of $10.55/hour.
A few other California cities have followed San
Francisco in establishing higher minimum wages. San
Jose has a $10 minimum wage. Long Beach requires

only cover the municipality’s
employees and businesses working directly under
contract, not all businesses operating within the city or
county’s jurisdiction. Los Angeles recently extended its
living wage law to cover hotels near Los Angeles
International Airport. According to the UC Berkeley
Labor Center, 32 municipalities in California have
Living Wage laws.
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