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The Mortgage Crisis The Mortgage Crisis –– Facts Facts 
and Figuresand Figures

A A Credit SuisseCredit Suisse report this spring predicted that 6.5 million loans will fall ireport this spring predicted that 6.5 million loans will fall into nto 
foreclosure over the next five years, reaching more than 8 perceforeclosure over the next five years, reaching more than 8 percent of all U.S. nt of all U.S. 
homes.homes.

Foreclosure filings Foreclosure filings ---- including default notices, auction sale notices and bank including default notices, auction sale notices and bank 
repossessions repossessions ---- were reported on 303,879 U.S. properties during August, a were reported on 303,879 U.S. properties during August, a 
12 percent increase from the previous month and a 27 percent inc12 percent increase from the previous month and a 27 percent increase from rease from 
August 2007August 2007

One in every 130 California households received a foreclosure fiOne in every 130 California households received a foreclosure filing in August ling in August 
for a total of 101,724 filings (the nation's highest total), up for a total of 101,724 filings (the nation's highest total), up 76 percent from 76 percent from 
August 2007 and up more than 40 percent from July 2008.August 2007 and up more than 40 percent from July 2008.

California cities accounted for eight of the top 10 metro foreclCalifornia cities accounted for eight of the top 10 metro foreclosure rates out osure rates out 
of the 230 metro areas tracked in the August report. Stockton Meof the 230 metro areas tracked in the August report. Stockton Merced, rced, 
Modesto, VallejoModesto, Vallejo--Fairfield RiversideFairfield Riverside--San Bernardino Bakersfield, SalinasSan Bernardino Bakersfield, Salinas--
Monterey and Sacramento.Monterey and Sacramento.
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In 2007 the U.S. Conference of Mayors released a report that higIn 2007 the U.S. Conference of Mayors released a report that highlighted the hlighted the 
following results of the foreclosure crisis:following results of the foreclosure crisis:

–– U.S. GDP will be $166 billion lower.U.S. GDP will be $166 billion lower.

–– Nationwide homeowners will see property values decline by $1.2 tNationwide homeowners will see property values decline by $1.2 trillion in rillion in 
2008.2008.

–– Foreclosures in 2008 will increase by at least 1.4 million natioForeclosures in 2008 will increase by at least 1.4 million nationwide.nwide.

–– Home price declines in California will range as high as 16%.Home price declines in California will range as high as 16%.

–– California could lose as much as $2.96 billion in property tax rCalifornia could lose as much as $2.96 billion in property tax revenue, evenue, 
$994 million in sales tax revenue and $39 million in transfer ta$994 million in sales tax revenue and $39 million in transfer taxes.xes.
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It is estimated that up to 8.5 million It is estimated that up to 8.5 million 
homeowners in 2008 will be have homeowners in 2008 will be have 
negative equity in their homes, up from negative equity in their homes, up from 
3.5 million in 2007.3.5 million in 2007.
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20072007

Beginning in 2007 the legislature conducted several Beginning in 2007 the legislature conducted several 
informational hearings to examine the first wave of informational hearings to examine the first wave of 
the crisis.the crisis.

California regulators implement federal guidance California regulators implement federal guidance 
relating to nonrelating to non--traditional loan products.traditional loan products.

Regulators begin collecting loss mitigation data.Regulators begin collecting loss mitigation data.

By the end of the year several large mortgage lenders By the end of the year several large mortgage lenders 
have collapsed.have collapsed.
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November 1, 2007:  Assembly Banking & Finance Committee conductsNovember 1, 2007:  Assembly Banking & Finance Committee conducts a a 
four hour hearing in Los Angeles to examine the four hour hearing in Los Angeles to examine the subprimesubprime crisis and its crisis and its 
impact on the community.impact on the community.

Conclusions from hearing:Conclusions from hearing:

–– Lack of uniform reporting of foreclosure and loss mitigation datLack of uniform reporting of foreclosure and loss mitigation data.a.

–– Community groups and counseling organizations were understaffed Community groups and counseling organizations were understaffed and underand under--
funded to respond to the problem.funded to respond to the problem.

–– Loan services and lenders were not yet fully able to grasp the sLoan services and lenders were not yet fully able to grasp the scale of the cale of the 
problem.problem.

–– Without fundamental reform in the Without fundamental reform in the subprimesubprime market the crisis could happen market the crisis could happen 
again.again.
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20082008

Over 15 bills related to the crisis are introduced.Over 15 bills related to the crisis are introduced.

AB 69 (Lieu) AB 69 (Lieu) –– Mortgage Lending: reportingMortgage Lending: reporting. Clarifies the authority of the . Clarifies the authority of the 
Department of Corporations to request loan modification data, onDepartment of Corporations to request loan modification data, on a a 
monthly basis, from their licensees who are servicing loans.monthly basis, from their licensees who are servicing loans.

AB 180 (Bass and Lieu) AB 180 (Bass and Lieu) –– Mortgages: foreclosure consultantsMortgages: foreclosure consultants.   Prohibits .   Prohibits 
a foreclosure consultant from entering specified prea foreclosure consultant from entering specified pre--foreclosure foreclosure 
agreements with a homeowner, allows a homeowner to cancel withinagreements with a homeowner, allows a homeowner to cancel within five five 
days of signing a contract with a foreclosure consultant, and redays of signing a contract with a foreclosure consultant, and requires the quires the 
foreclosure consultant to maintain a surety bond.  Also has a trforeclosure consultant to maintain a surety bond.  Also has a translation anslation 
provision to allow owners to request a completed copy of the conprovision to allow owners to request a completed copy of the contract if tract if 
any language described in Civil Code Section 1632 (Spanish, Chinany language described in Civil Code Section 1632 (Spanish, Chinese, ese, 
TagalogTagalog, Vietnamese, and Korean).  , Vietnamese, and Korean).  
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AB 529 (AB 529 (TorricoTorrico) ) –– Mortgages: adjustable interest rates: notificationMortgages: adjustable interest rates: notification.  This bill .  This bill 
requires a borrower to receive notice if their loan is scheduledrequires a borrower to receive notice if their loan is scheduled to switch to switch 
from an initial fixed rate to an adjustable rate, or set to resefrom an initial fixed rate to an adjustable rate, or set to reset to a fully t to a fully 
amortizing loan.  This notification must occur between 90 and 12amortizing loan.  This notification must occur between 90 and 120 days 0 days 
before the loan is scheduled to switch or reset.   before the loan is scheduled to switch or reset.   

AB 1830 (Lieu) AB 1830 (Lieu) –– Lending.Lending. Enacts the Enacts the SubprimeSubprime Lending Reform Act (Act).  Lending Reform Act (Act).  
Enacts prohibitions, requirements and restrictions for higher prEnacts prohibitions, requirements and restrictions for higher priced loans.  iced loans.  
Also provides that mortgage brokers owe a fiduciary duty to borrAlso provides that mortgage brokers owe a fiduciary duty to borrowers.owers.

AB 1837 (Garcia)AB 1837 (Garcia) –– Consumer loans: Consumer loans: subprimesubprime and nontraditional loans.  and nontraditional loans.  
Limited prepayment penalties and Yield Spread Premiums for Limited prepayment penalties and Yield Spread Premiums for subprimesubprime
loans.loans.

AB 2161 (Swanson) AB 2161 (Swanson) –– Loans: consumer complaintsLoans: consumer complaints.  This bill requires the .  This bill requires the 
Department of Real Estate, the Department of Financial InstitutiDepartment of Real Estate, the Department of Financial Institutions, and ons, and 
the Department of Corporations to report to the Legislature on cthe Department of Corporations to report to the Legislature on consumer onsumer 
complaints related to nontraditional loans.complaints related to nontraditional loans.
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AB 2187 (Caballero) AB 2187 (Caballero) –– Mortgages: Mortgages: foreclosure.  foreclosure.  This bill imposes certain This bill imposes certain 
requirements on mortgage lenders that are foreclosing on propertrequirements on mortgage lenders that are foreclosing on property.  y.  

AB 2359 (Jones) AB 2359 (Jones) –– LoansLoans.  Provides that an originator, beneficiary, trustee .  Provides that an originator, beneficiary, trustee 
or assignee shall not require as a condition of an agreement regor assignee shall not require as a condition of an agreement regarding a arding a 
covered loan, covered loan, subprimesubprime loan, or nonloan, or non--traditional loan that the applicant traditional loan that the applicant 
waive any duties, remedies, or forums of California law with reswaive any duties, remedies, or forums of California law with respect to a pect to a 
residential mortgage or mortgage foreclosure.  residential mortgage or mortgage foreclosure.  

AB 2880 (AB 2880 (WolkWolk) ) –– Mortgage lendingMortgage lending.  .  Specifies that mortgage brokers Specifies that mortgage brokers 
have a fiduciary responsibility to borrowers and requires mortgahave a fiduciary responsibility to borrowers and requires mortgage ge 
brokers to maintain a surety bondbrokers to maintain a surety bond
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AJR 45 (AJR 45 (CotoCoto) ) –– Mortgage loansMortgage loans: federal conforming and FHA mortgage loan limits.  This : federal conforming and FHA mortgage loan limits.  This 
resolution memorializes the Congress of the Untied States to enaresolution memorializes the Congress of the Untied States to enact, and the President of the ct, and the President of the 
United States to sign, a permanent increase in the conforming moUnited States to sign, a permanent increase in the conforming mortgage loan limit.rtgage loan limit.

AJR 59 (AJR 59 (SolorioSolorio) ) –– California California subprimesubprime mortgage foreclosuresmortgage foreclosures.  This resolution urges the .  This resolution urges the 
President of the United States and Congress to require more overPresident of the United States and Congress to require more oversight of mortgage lenders sight of mortgage lenders 
and loan and loan servicersservicers and increase disclosures and enforcement of mortgage laws.  and increase disclosures and enforcement of mortgage laws.  

SB 1053 (Machado) SB 1053 (Machado) –– Real estate: brokers and salespersonsReal estate: brokers and salespersons.  .  Requires real estate brokers Requires real estate brokers 
that make, arrange, or service residential mortgage loans to notthat make, arrange, or service residential mortgage loans to notify the Department of Real ify the Department of Real 
Estate (DRE) of their business activity, and requires brokers toEstate (DRE) of their business activity, and requires brokers to file certain reports and file certain reports and 
statements with DRE.statements with DRE.

SB 1054 (Machado) SB 1054 (Machado) –– Real estate: brokers and salespersonsReal estate: brokers and salespersons.  .  
Allows the Department of Real Estate (DRE) to prohibit, bar or sAllows the Department of Real Estate (DRE) to prohibit, bar or suspend a real estate uspend a real estate 
salesperson or broker from participating in any business activitsalesperson or broker from participating in any business activity relating to real estate for up y relating to real estate for up 
to 36 months.to 36 months.
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SB 1055 (Machado)SB 1055 (Machado)-- Taxation: cancellation of indebtedness: mortgage debt forgiveneTaxation: cancellation of indebtedness: mortgage debt forgivenessss.  This bill .  This bill 
would provide further conformity to federal income tax laws by cwould provide further conformity to federal income tax laws by conforming to specified provisions onforming to specified provisions 
of the federal Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007, relof the federal Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007, relating to the exclusion of the ating to the exclusion of the 
discharge of qualified principal residence indebtedness, as defidischarge of qualified principal residence indebtedness, as defined, from a taxpayerned, from a taxpayer’’s income if s income if 
that debt is discharged after January 1, 2007, and before Januarthat debt is discharged after January 1, 2007, and before January 1, 2009, as provided.y 1, 2009, as provided.

SB 1137 (SB 1137 (PerataPerata) ) –– Residential mortgage loans: foreclosure proceduresResidential mortgage loans: foreclosure procedures.  .  Enacts changes related Enacts changes related 
the foreclosure process in response to the the foreclosure process in response to the subprimesubprime lending/foreclosure crisis.lending/foreclosure crisis. Status: Chapter Status: Chapter 
69, Statues of 200869, Statues of 2008

SB 1448 (Scott) SB 1448 (Scott) –– Real estate brokers and salespersons: finesReal estate brokers and salespersons: fines.  .  
This bill increases the maximum fine for an unlicensed person acThis bill increases the maximum fine for an unlicensed person acting or advertising themselves as ting or advertising themselves as 
a real estate broker or a real estate salesperson from $10,000 ta real estate broker or a real estate salesperson from $10,000 to $20,000 and for an unlicensed o $20,000 and for an unlicensed 
corporation from $50,000 to $60,000, and requires any fine collecorporation from $50,000 to $60,000, and requires any fine collected in excess of $10,000 from cted in excess of $10,000 from 
an individual or in excess of $50,000 from a corporation be depoan individual or in excess of $50,000 from a corporation be deposited into the Real Estate Fraud sited into the Real Estate Fraud 
Prosecution Trust fund if one exists in the county where the conProsecution Trust fund if one exists in the county where the conviction occurs.  viction occurs.  Status: Chapter Status: Chapter 
156, Statues of 2008156, Statues of 2008

SB 1604 (Machado)SB 1604 (Machado)-- Finance lenders and residential mortgage lendersFinance lenders and residential mortgage lenders.  This bill would require .  This bill would require 
that applicants for a license to engage in the business of residthat applicants for a license to engage in the business of residential mortgage lending, as ential mortgage lending, as 
specified, show a minimum tangible net worth of $50,000, for brospecified, show a minimum tangible net worth of $50,000, for brokers, and $250,000, for finance kers, and $250,000, for finance 
lenders. The bill would require that all other applicants for a lenders. The bill would require that all other applicants for a license show a minimum tangible net license show a minimum tangible net 
worth of $25,000, for brokers, and $100,000, for finance lendersworth of $25,000, for brokers, and $100,000, for finance lenders.  This bill was later gut & .  This bill was later gut & 
amended.amended.
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Senate Bill 1137 and Senate Bill 1137 and 
Assembly Bill 1830Assembly Bill 1830

SB 1137 and AB 1830 take different SB 1137 and AB 1830 take different 
approaches to mitigate the approaches to mitigate the subprimesubprime crisis.crisis.

SB 1137 responds to the current problems SB 1137 responds to the current problems 
such as foreclosure and loan modifications.such as foreclosure and loan modifications.

AB 1830 seeks to prevent this crisis from AB 1830 seeks to prevent this crisis from 
happening again.happening again.
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SB 1137 (SB 1137 (PerataPerata))

Requires contact with borrower at least 30 days prior to filing Requires contact with borrower at least 30 days prior to filing 
of notice of default (NOD).of notice of default (NOD).

Requires the offer of a faceRequires the offer of a face--toto--face meeting with a referral to face meeting with a referral to 
a HUD certified counselor.a HUD certified counselor.

Requires the trustee, mortgagee, or beneficiary to maintain a Requires the trustee, mortgagee, or beneficiary to maintain a 
tolltoll--free number that will provide access to a live person free number that will provide access to a live person 
during normal business hours.during normal business hours.

Makes legislative findings and declarations regarding loan Makes legislative findings and declarations regarding loan 
modifications.modifications.
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SB 1137SB 1137--continuedcontinued

Requires that upon posting a notice of sale, the borrower must rRequires that upon posting a notice of sale, the borrower must receive a eceive a 
notice (in English, Spanish, Chinese, notice (in English, Spanish, Chinese, TagalogTagalog, , VeitnameseVeitnamese, or Korean) , or Korean) 
that states the following:that states the following:

""Foreclosure process has begun on this property, which may affectForeclosure process has begun on this property, which may affect
your right to continue to live in this property.  Twenty days oryour right to continue to live in this property.  Twenty days or more more 
after the date of this notice, this property may be sold at after the date of this notice, this property may be sold at 
foreclosure.  If you are renting this property, the new propertyforeclosure.  If you are renting this property, the new property
owner may either give you a new lease or rental agreement or owner may either give you a new lease or rental agreement or 
provide you with a 60provide you with a 60--day eviction notice.  However, other laws day eviction notice.  However, other laws 
may prohibit an eviction in this circumstance or provide you witmay prohibit an eviction in this circumstance or provide you with a h a 
longer notice before eviction.  You may wish to contact a lawyerlonger notice before eviction.  You may wish to contact a lawyer or or 
your local legal aid or housing counseling agency to discuss anyyour local legal aid or housing counseling agency to discuss any
rights you may have."rights you may have."
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SB 1137SB 1137--continuedcontinued

–– Requires maintenance of vacant property with a potential of a Requires maintenance of vacant property with a potential of a 
$1,000 per day fine.  The government entity that issues the $1,000 per day fine.  The government entity that issues the 
fine must give notice and an opportunity to correct the fine must give notice and an opportunity to correct the 
violation.violation.

–– Provides a tenant or subProvides a tenant or sub--tenant of a rental unit with 60 days tenant of a rental unit with 60 days 
notice after a property is sold into foreclosure before the notice after a property is sold into foreclosure before the 
tenant may be removed.tenant may be removed.

–– Sunsets on January 1, 2013.Sunsets on January 1, 2013.
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AB 1830 (Lieu, Bass, Nava & AB 1830 (Lieu, Bass, Nava & WolkWolk))

Uses the same definition of Uses the same definition of ““Higher priced mortgage loansHigher priced mortgage loans”” as Regulation Z.as Regulation Z.

Prohibits Steering:Prohibits Steering:
AB 1830 directly prohibits a broker from steering borrowers to AB 1830 directly prohibits a broker from steering borrowers to accept a accept a 

loan at a higher cost than that which the consumer could loan at a higher cost than that which the consumer could otherwise qualify otherwise qualify 
for.  for.  

Eliminates Compensation Incentives That Led To Riskier Loans:Eliminates Compensation Incentives That Led To Riskier Loans:
AB 1830 eliminates this incentive by requiring that regardless oAB 1830 eliminates this incentive by requiring that regardless of f who pays who pays 

the broker (borrower, lender or third party), the the broker (borrower, lender or third party), the compensation must be the compensation must be the 
same.  This will ensure that a broker same.  This will ensure that a broker can receive no more from a lender can receive no more from a lender 
than the borrower would pay than the borrower would pay to the broker in upto the broker in up--front costs.front costs.

Directly Prohibits Deceptive Statements:Directly Prohibits Deceptive Statements:
AB 1830 contains a prohibition against brokers and lenders from AB 1830 contains a prohibition against brokers and lenders from 
making false or deceptive statements connected with a making false or deceptive statements connected with a subprimesubprime
loan.  loan.  
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AB 1830AB 1830-- continuedcontinued

Enacts Strong Fiduciary Duty Standard:Enacts Strong Fiduciary Duty Standard:
AB 1830 codifies a fiduciary duty standard for mortgage brokers AB 1830 codifies a fiduciary duty standard for mortgage brokers across all across all 
loan products.  A violation of this duty will make a broker subjloan products.  A violation of this duty will make a broker subject to a violation of ect to a violation of 
their license as well as strong civil liability and penalties.their license as well as strong civil liability and penalties.

Bans Negative Amortization Loans:Bans Negative Amortization Loans:
AB 1830 prohibits any AB 1830 prohibits any subprimesubprime loan that could lead to negative amortization.  The loan that could lead to negative amortization.  The 
pool of borrowers in the pool of borrowers in the subprimesubprime market is already riskier.  Allowing an extremely market is already riskier.  Allowing an extremely 
risky product such as a negative amortization loan to be offeredrisky product such as a negative amortization loan to be offered to this pool is to this pool is 
not sound policy. not sound policy. 

Caps Prepayment Penalties:Caps Prepayment Penalties:
AB 1830 builds on the provisions of Regulation Z and caps the amAB 1830 builds on the provisions of Regulation Z and caps the amount of ount of 
the penalty to no more than 2% of the principal balance in year the penalty to no more than 2% of the principal balance in year one of the loan, one of the loan, 
and no more than 1% of the principal balance in the second year.and no more than 1% of the principal balance in the second year.

AB 1830 also prohibits anyone who arranges a AB 1830 also prohibits anyone who arranges a subprimesubprime loan from receiving loan from receiving 
increased compensation for originating a loan that includes a princreased compensation for originating a loan that includes a prepayment penalty.epayment penalty.
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AB 1830AB 1830--continuedcontinued

Provides for a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for a knowing and Provides for a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for a knowing and willful violation.willful violation.

Provides borrowers with a private right of action and the abilitProvides borrowers with a private right of action and the ability to recover y to recover 
attorney's fees.attorney's fees.

Provides that a licensing agency may prohibit licensees from engProvides that a licensing agency may prohibit licensees from engaging in acts or aging in acts or 
practices in connection with practices in connection with subprimesubprime loans that the agency finds to be unfair, loans that the agency finds to be unfair, 
deceptive, or designed to evade the law.deceptive, or designed to evade the law.

Provides explicit authority for California regulators (DRE, DOC Provides explicit authority for California regulators (DRE, DOC & DFI) to enforce & DFI) to enforce 
provisions of federal lending laws (TILA, RESPA & HOEPA) againstprovisions of federal lending laws (TILA, RESPA & HOEPA) against their their 
licensees and furthermore provides that violations of federal lelicensees and furthermore provides that violations of federal lending laws are nding laws are 
also a violation of that person's license.also a violation of that person's license.

Operative date of July 1, 2008Operative date of July 1, 2008
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Regulation Z (Truth in Regulation Z (Truth in 
Lending Act)Lending Act)

On January 9, 2008 the Federal Reserve Board published On January 9, 2008 the Federal Reserve Board published 
proposed rules that would amend Regulation Z.  The proposal proposed rules that would amend Regulation Z.  The proposal 
included new restrictions and requirements for mortgage included new restrictions and requirements for mortgage 
lending and servicing designed to protect consumers from lending and servicing designed to protect consumers from 
abusive mortgage product features and deceptive acts.   abusive mortgage product features and deceptive acts.   

The Board received 4700 comments. The Board received 4700 comments. 

Final rule will become operative October 7, 2009Final rule will become operative October 7, 2009
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RegReg ZZ--ContinuedContinued

HigherHigher--priced loan Definition:priced loan Definition:

The proposal defined higherThe proposal defined higher--priced mortgage loans as a consumer credit transaction priced mortgage loans as a consumer credit transaction 
secured by the consumer's principal dwelling for which the APR isecured by the consumer's principal dwelling for which the APR is s 1.51.5 percentage percentage 
points above the average prime offer rate on comparable transactpoints above the average prime offer rate on comparable transactions for firstions for first--lien lien 
loans, and loans, and 3.53.5 percentage points for subordinatepercentage points for subordinate--lien loans. This definition excludes lien loans. This definition excludes 
reverse mortgages, constructionreverse mortgages, construction--only loans and bridge loans.only loans and bridge loans.

Ability to Repay:Ability to Repay:

The proposal prohibited creditors from extending credit without The proposal prohibited creditors from extending credit without regard of the regard of the 
borrower's ability to repay from sources other than collateral. borrower's ability to repay from sources other than collateral. 

Prepayment Penalties:Prepayment Penalties:

The final rule bans The final rule bans PPPsPPPs for higher priced loans if the payment can change with the for higher priced loans if the payment can change with the 
first four years after consummation.  With most adjustable rate first four years after consummation.  With most adjustable rate loans ranging from loans ranging from 
two to three years, this provision effectively bans PPP for ARMStwo to three years, this provision effectively bans PPP for ARMS.  Additionally, for .  Additionally, for 
loans that do not have a payment change the PPP is limited to thloans that do not have a payment change the PPP is limited to the just the first two e just the first two 
years after consummation.years after consummation.
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RegReg ZZ--continuedcontinued

Escrow Accounts:Escrow Accounts:
Requires creditors to establish an escrow account for property tRequires creditors to establish an escrow account for property taxes and homeowners axes and homeowners 
insurance on higherinsurance on higher--priced loans secured by the first lien on the principle dwellingpriced loans secured by the first lien on the principle dwelling. . 

Coercion of Appraisers:Coercion of Appraisers:
The Board proposed to prohibit creditors and mortgage brokers anThe Board proposed to prohibit creditors and mortgage brokers and their affiliates from d their affiliates from 
coercing, including, or otherwise encouraging appraisers to misscoercing, including, or otherwise encouraging appraisers to misstate or misrepresent the value tate or misrepresent the value 
of a consumer's principle dwelling. of a consumer's principle dwelling. 

Servicing Abuses.Servicing Abuses.
The Board proposed to prohibit certain practices of The Board proposed to prohibit certain practices of servicersservicers.  The proposal provides that no .  The proposal provides that no 
servicerservicer shall:shall:

–– Fail to credit a consumer's periodic payment as of the date receFail to credit a consumer's periodic payment as of the date received.ived.

–– Impose a late fee or delinquency charge where the late fee or deImpose a late fee or delinquency charge where the late fee or delinquency charge is due only to a linquency charge is due only to a 
consumer's failure to include in a current payment a late fee orconsumer's failure to include in a current payment a late fee or delinquency charge imposed on earlier delinquency charge imposed on earlier 
payments.payments.

–– Fail to provide an accurate payoff statement within a reasonableFail to provide an accurate payoff statement within a reasonable time of requesttime of request..
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Future Legislative ActionsFuture Legislative Actions
HR 3221 contains a provision known as the HR 3221 contains a provision known as the 
Secure and Fair Enforcement (SAFE) for Secure and Fair Enforcement (SAFE) for 
Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

The SAFE Act requires that all loan The SAFE Act requires that all loan 
originators be licensed.  originators be licensed.  

This will require state legislation to conform This will require state legislation to conform 
to requirements of the SAFE Act.to requirements of the SAFE Act.
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