













|
|
Printable Version
Full-text
databases keep the state of California grounded in facts
Librarians,
using research technologies like electronic databases,
make complex organizations credible and efficient.
Librarians, through their access to most published work
in infinite professional fields, open doors to
documented dissenting opinions - to critical thought.
The
California State Library (CSL) is California state
government’s leading research library. The librarians
in the CSL’s services bureau help state employees
ground California’s administrative and political world
in fact by showing the way to statistics and arguments
that become the foundations of California policy.
As
one of their services to government workers, CSL
librarians will email, fax or interoffice an article
from, say, a News Bank source like the Los
Angeles Times to a government worker’s workplace.
Or, if the researcher has time, he or she can travel to
a CSL branch in Sacramento or San Francisco and log onto
the CSL databases and explore.
Sometimes
though, the time it takes for a librarian to retrieve
and fax an article is too long for a deadline-pressured
researcher to wait: five minutes is a lifetime when your
boss needs stats for her speech in an hour about
2000’S welfare cuts.
That’s
changed. The CSL’s electronic databases are now
available on every state worker’s PC desktop in the
state of California.
CSL
librarian Julie Davidson, in an article for Today’s
Supervisor, explains the program to state workers:
|
|
Working
with departmental libraries and state agency information
technology staff, the State Library has recently started
connecting agencies to databases via desktop Internet
Protocol (IP) addresses. When connected at your agency
you will be able to go to the library web page, Newspapers
and Journals for State Government http://www.library.ca.gov/csl/csldatabases.cfm
and search a wide array of electronic databases that
have the reliable articles and stats that can make your
job easier.
Included
in the databases are a broad range of 1) scholarly,
full-text journal articles on many subjects, including
business, health, education, engineering, and the social
sciences (EBSCOHost), 2) full-text coverage of over 140
newspapers from throughout the United States, including
major California newspapers such as the Los Angeles
Times, the Sacramento Bee, the San
Francisco Chronicle, the San Jose Mercury News,
Orange County Register and the San Diego Union
Tribune - with coverage for some newspapers
available for many years back - (NewsBank), and 3)
California statistics covering topics such as, business,
economics, demographics, education, health, crime and
criminal justice, environment, energy, agriculture,
natural resources, insurance, housing, social services,
employment, and public finance (RAND California).
|
|
|
For
more information contact Sabah Eltareb, California State
Library senior librarian, at (916) 654-0040/ seltareb@library.ca.gov
or John Jewell, Chief of State Library Services at (916)
653-0293/ jjewell@library.ca.gov.
|
|
|
|
|
©
2004 The California State Library. All rights reserved.
The
California State Library
914 Capitol Mall • P.O. Box
942837 • Sacramento, CA 94237-0001
Library of California Board
900 N Street, Suite 500 • Sacramento, CA 94237-0001 |