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Meeting Summary 
 

The California Research Bureau (CRB) was asked by the Senate to explore the policy options 
before the state to improve licensing standards for Certified Public Accountants. 
  
To support that task, the CRB assembled an advisory panel to assist the Bureau’s efforts to 
identify and articulate questions of concern, relevant data and materials important to the project.  
CRB convened an initial advisory panel meeting on June 11, 2009 and second meeting on 
August 19, 2009.  This is a summary of the second meeting.   
 
In June, meeting participants identified three strategic goals associated with changes to 
California’s licensing standards for CPAs.  They are: 
 
 Fortifying consumer protection; 
 Enhancing commerce; and  
 Leveling the playing field to ensure underrepresented Californians have access to 

licensure. 
 
During the August meeting, the panel covered the impact of the proposed 150-hour rule change 
on the first two of those three goals.  This summary reflects the discussion during the meeting.  

 
Discussion – The 150-Hour Rule and its impact on consumer protection 
 
Meeting participants discussed the following themes. 
 
 The accounting profession has become markedly more complex in recent years.  Changes to 

the licensing standards are intended to ensure that licensed CPAs can effectively deliver the 
services required in the marketplace. 

 
 The state is the primary regulator of CPAs in California.  State licensing is the first step in 

ensuring competency.   
 
 Licensing requirements must be recognized as setting a minimum standard for operating in 

the marketplace.  Licensing is not intended or designed to ensure that all licensees are trained 
or equipped to respond to the increasingly sophisticated demands of a global marketplace.  

 
 The accounting profession, led by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy 

(NASBA) has long recognized that state-level licensing has resulted in disparate licensing 
standards across the country (NASBA is made up of 55 licensing entities, which include the 
50 states along with Washington, D.C., Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands and the 
Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands).  To preserve states’ rights over licensing, and 
to also move toward a common licensing standard, NASBA has promoted the adoption of a 
Uniform Accountancy Act (UAA) by each licensing entity.  
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 Participants indicated that a majority of states have adopted the UAA standard – or a 
standard recognized by NASBA – as “substantially equivalent” to the UAA standard.  For 
California’s licensing requirements to conform to the UAA standard, the state would need to 
amend its statutes to require each candidate for licensure to complete 150 semester hours of 
education from an accredited institution.   

 
 Some meeting participants asserted that the higher educational requirement established under 

the UAA is designed to better reflect the demands of the field.  The nexus between the 
licensing standard and consumer protection is reflected in the expectation that better trained 
candidates would improve the quality of the accounting services they provide and thus 
enhance consumer protection.  

 
 Meeting participants discussed the rationale behind the requirements for 150 hours of 

education while eliminating California’s alternate licensing pathway, which requires (in part) 
120 semester hours.  More specifically, participants discussed the rationale behind the 
additional 30 hours and how those 30 hours were envisioned to improve licensing.  

 
 Participants pointed out that within the field, discussions focus on 150 hours because it can 

be the equivalent to earning a Master’s degree.  They also pointed out that the additional 30 
hours – known as the “hollow 30” hours – are not mandated in a given field so that potential 
licensees have the flexibility to take coursework in an area of concentration, such as 
agribusiness, entertainment, international trade, etc.   

 
 At least four states have elected to put restriction on the coursework that counts toward the 

additional 30 hours, including Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, and Vermont. 
 
 Participants pointed out that the increase in coursework required under the 150-hour rule also 

was intended to enhance the maturity of candidates for licensing.  In deliberations within 
NASBA over the requirement, members reasoned that an additional year of education would 
improve the decision-making of licensing candidates. It was argued that candidate maturity 
would be enhanced by the additional training. 

 
 But the actual impact of added educational requirements is not clear.  Participants pointed to 

research sponsored by the profession that found no difference in testing outcomes between 
candidates with 120 or 150 hours of education.  Others highlighted comments from the 
various state boards and other experts that questioned the research design.  In short, 
participants affirmed that there is no conclusive evidence that requiring the additional 30 
hours of coursework is beneficial.  Nor is there conclusive evidence that it is not.   

 
 Participants were asked if the 150-hour rule was adopted in response to any specific 

problems or concerns with the quality of licensing applicants or licensed CPAs.  Participants 
indicated that adopting the 150-hour rule was considered a proactive strategy rather than a 
response to problems in the profession.   
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 Participants also discussed other strategies to enhance consumer protection, including efforts 
to improve reporting of disciplinary actions and ensuring customers have better to access to 
information on licensing and licensees.   

 
 Some asserted that without improved access to licensing and disciplinary information on out-

of-state licensed CPAs, consumer protection in California could be hampered. Adopting the 
UAA standard in California might result in an increase level of practice by CPAs licensed in 
states that do not permit customers to view their licensing histories through on-line 
disclosure.  

 
Discussion – The 150-hour rule and enhancing commerce 
 
 The UAA envisions that a consistent standard for licensing across the nation will enhance 

commerce by permitting licensees from “substantially equivalent” states to practice in all 
“substantially equivalent” states without the burden of seeking permission in each of the 
states or licensing jurisdictions.  

 
 NASBA offers a certification service that reports whether states have licensing standards that 

are consistent with the UAA.  Under the model Act, each state is expected to grant practice 
privileges to all licensed CPAs from those states that meet the UAA licensing standard.  

 
 Most states provide other avenues to permit CPAs licensed by another state to operate within 

their borders, even if they are licensed by a state that is not considered substantially 
equivalent.  Those avenues frequently include certifying that a licensed CPA has been 
licensed for at least four of the past 10 years (the “4 in 10 Rule”) or allowing the CPA to 
demonstrate individually that he or she meets the licensing standard from that state.   

 
 Participants pointed out that the substantial equivalence declaration is designed to reduce the 

burden placed on CPAs who would otherwise need to demonstrate individual substantial 
equivalency or meet the “4 in 10 Rule” experience standard.  Some states have significantly 
onerous paperwork, fee requirements or delays in processing that can inhibit the ability of a 
CPA or a firm to serve their clients efficiently.  For small firms that work with clients who 
have outlets in many states, securing permission to work in many states is both expensive and 
time consuming.  

 
 Yet the discussion revealed that under the UAA, states have until 2012 to adopt the 150-hour 

licensing requirement.  Prior to 2012, license applicants are required to have 120 hours of 
education.   

 
 Under the NASBA certification service, California is currently recognized as being 

substantially equivalent, but a notation is included on the NASBA website indicating that the 
state will not be substantially equivalent in 2012 unless it adopts the 150-hour provisions as a 
sole path to licensing.   
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 Despite the current NASBA certification that California is substantially equivalent under 
current standards, participants pointed out that many states fail to recognize California’s 
substantial equivalence and thus require individual certification.   

 
 Participants pointed out that many states do not rely on the NASBA certification of 

substantial equivalence, instead performing their own certification based on their assessment 
of the licensing requirements of each state. These states may continue to require individual 
CPAs to apply for individual substantial equivalence.  Some states apparently have 
accelerated the 150-hour requirement, such that all licensees must demonstrate that they meet 
the standards in place in those states at the time of licensure, the “4 in 10” rule, or individual 
substantial equivalence.   

 
 CRB staff reported and others affirmed, that in communications with other states, those states 

reported that their licensing standards were in flux and they could not conclusively say that 
the adoption of the 150-hour rule by California would eliminate or reduce barriers to cross-
state practice for California-licensed CPAs.   

 
 Some participants asserted that some states will eliminate the “4 in 10” path to practice 

privileges or licensure.  The “4 in 10” rule eliminates the requirement that all licensees meet 
updated standards.  It was unclear to what degree other states would continue to 
“grandfather” other states’ licensees when they seek to practice public accountancy across 
state lines.  

 
 If all licensing jurisdictions adopted substantial equivalency, there might be no further need 

for the “4 in 10” rule.  However, other panelists stated that because states do not fully 
embrace the notion of substantial equivalency, eliminating the “4 in 10” provision could 
exclude some practicing CPAs from working across state lines. 

 
 Participants generally agreed that California’s adoption of the 150-hour rule has the potential 

to streamline cross-state practice and enhance commerce, but its effectiveness depends on 
how each licensing entity interprets and implements the UAA and how they interpret 
California’s statutes.  For states that do not currently follow the NASBA certification of 
substantial equivalence, it is unclear if adoption of the 150-hour rule by California would 
improve opportunities for commerce. 

 
 Participants briefly discussed other options for enhancing commerce, including negotiating 

specific agreements between California and other states, which could more fully ensure 
California-licensed CPAs can practice in those states.   

 
 Participants pointed out that the UAA is intended to establish a uniform standard so that 

those agreements need not be negotiated.  But recognizing that individual states – including 
California – preserve the right to set licensing standards and that they inconsistently apply the 
UAA standard, it is difficult to conclude that in the absence of a specific agreement, 
California licensed CPAs would be extended privileges to practice in other states even under 
the UAA. 

 


