-
California Information File II
This database contains more than 50,000 references to California people, places, events, and subjects.
Hide this info
Database description
Search the California Information File II
Obtaining copies of items referenced
The entries in this database are citations only. There are no links to full-text.
To obtain a copy of an item cited in the California Information File II:
- You are welcome to visit us to use the resources.
- If you cannot visit us, check the catalog of a large public library or a university library near you. Many larger libraries have some of the same books, newspapers, and periodicals as the State Library.
- If you cannot find the item in a library near you, we may be able to make photocopies for you.
- Unfortunately, we do not have the staff resources to locate and copy specific articles from newspaper microfilm. However, you can request the microfilm of the newspapers through interlibrary loan. You may also borrow circulating books and periodicals though interlibrary loan.
- To initiate an interlibrary loan request, tell your local library (public, academic, or organization library) the title and date of the item that you need, and ask them to send the request to us. We do not charge for this service, but there may be a charge from your local library.
-
Telephone Directories
The California History Room has over 3000 telephone directories on microfilm, covering years from 1878 to 1996, as well as telephone directories in a paper format. This database lets you determine if we have the specific telephone directory you need.
Hide this info
Search by city and year to locate telephone directories in the California History Room collection. You can also limit your search to a specific format. If you find a directory on microfilm, write down the reel number.
The California History Room also has a collection of telephone directories on microfiche for dates ranging from 1977 to 2006. These directories are not included in this database.
You must visit us to use the telephone directories. The paper directories cannot be photocopied, but they can be photographed without flash.
Unfortunately, the California History Section does not have the staff resources to provide look-ups in telephone directories. If you are unable to visit us, we can provide you with a list of private researchers who may be able to help you for a fee. Contact us for more information.
Search the Telephone Directories database.
-
City and County Directories
The California History Room has city and county directories in several formats: paper, microfilm, and microfiche. This database lets you determine if we have the specific city directory you need, and it gives you the format and location.
Hide this info
Search by city or county and date to find the location and format of directories in the California History Room collection.
In general, you must visit the California History Room to use the city directories. However, if the database indicates that there are two copies of a directory on microfilm, it may be borrowed through interlibrary loan.
Unfortunately, the California History Section does not have the staff resources to provide look-ups in city directories. If you are unable to visit us, we can provide you with a list of private researchers who may be able to help you for a fee. Contact us for more information.
Search the City and County Directories database.
-
Gladding McBean Company Archives Index
The Gladding McBean Company manufactured decorative architectural elements from terra cotta at its factory in Lincoln. This database is an index to over 6,500 of their job files.
Hide this info
Search by city or country, building name, client name, or architect to find the desired job. The job files range in date from 1888 to 1966. The files may include drawings, photographs, estimates, and correspondence.
You must visit us to use these job files. The collection is not available online or through interlibrary loan.
Search the Gladding McBean Company Archives database.